Reichstag

  • Innenansicht der Reichstagskuppel

Among Berlin's sights, the Reichstag is one of the city's favourites. Located on Platz der Republik in the Tiergarten district, just to the north and west of the Brandenburg Gate, the edifice has been a centre for German politics and history for more than 120 years. After extensive modernisation, the Bundestag, Germany's parliament, moved in in 1999. The 23 m glass dome designed by British star architect Norman Foster is quite the contrast to the traditional Neo-Renaissance style of the original building, making this landmark even more striking in today's capital.

Modern in old garb

Architect Paul Wallot designed and completed the Reichstag on the left bank of the River Spree in 1894. It was where the imperial assembly (Reichstag) of the German Empire met under Kaiser Wilhelm II and continued to be used for that purpose after the first German republic was founded in 1918. It suffered a devastating fire in 1933, shortly after Adolf Hitler took power, and was at the centre of the final battle of World War II. The war damage was repaired by 1960, only to have the Berlin Wall erected directly behind the Reichstag a year later. Architect Norman Foster designed the fundamental modernisations to the edifice that have made the Reichstag such a popular attraction for Germans and foreigners alike to visit when in Berlin.

Magnificent views and relaxed picnics

The Reichstag building is easily reached by foot with a 15 minute walk from the main rail station through the Spreebogenpark. To enter, you will need reservations. Once you go through security, you can take the elevator at the west entrance to the rooftop terrace. Here you will be given an audio guide with interesting information, which updates automatically as you wind your way down the spiral ramp inside  dome and to the 40 m high viewing platform. The platform offers magnificent views of the government quarter, the Großer Tiergarten park, and nearby Brandenburg Gate, as well as across the city. If you join the crowds queuing before sunset, you could be rewarded with a spectacular sunset over the city, provided the weather cooperates. Of course, you can also relax and enjoy the romantic spectacle with a good glass of wine in the Käfer restaurant on the roof terrace. By the way, the large lawn in front of the Reichstag is a very popular place for Berliners to relax and have a picnic.

Important art and the veiled Reichstag

An event that you should not miss is a guided tour of the plenary hall where the Bundestag meets. Also worth seeing are the works of art distributed throughout the entire building, including magnificent pieces by contemporary artists like Georg Baselitz, Joseph Beuys, and Grisha Bruskin. Before the renovations got underway, artist couple Christo and Jeanne Claude caused quite a sensation when they covered the entire edifice with silver tarpaulins for two weeks in 1995. Images of this installation piece were seen around the world.

Use the Berlin WelcomeCard for unlimited transport

When preparing for your visit to Berlin, don't forget the Berlin WelcomeCard, a good no matter how long you plan to stay. Berlin's official and best-selling tourist ticket gives you unlimited use of public transport. You also benefit from over 200 discount offers around the city, saving up to 50%. How about a helicopter flight over the city centre or a colourful Vegas-style show at Friedrichstadt-Palast? Or you can choose the Berlin WelcomeCard inclusive and get free admission to Berlin's top attractions.

Partners in the vicinity


Open in Google Maps

Reichstag

  • Innenansicht der Reichstagskuppel

Unter Berlins Sehenswürdigkeiten gehört er zu den Favoriten: der Reichstag am Platz der Republik im Ortsteil Tiergarten. Seit über 120 Jahren wird hinter seinen geschichtsträchtigen Mauern bedeutende Politik gemacht. Nach umfangreichen Modernisierungsmaßnahmen zog im Jahr 1999 der Deutsche Bundestag ein. Die 23m hohe gläserne Kuppel des britischen Stararchitekten Norman Foster, die im imposanten Kontrast zum altehrwürdigen italienischen Neorenaissancestil des Gebäudes steht, ist heute ein neues markantes Wahrzeichen der Hauptstadt.

Moderne in altem Gewand

Der Pfälzer Architekt Paul Wallot baute den Berliner Reichstag bis 1894 am linken Ufer der Spree. In ihm tagte bis 1918 der Reichstag des Deutschen Kaiserreiches und danach der Reichstag der Weimarer Republik. Die Folgen des verheerenden Brandes im Jahr 1933 sowie alle Kriegsschäden wurden bis 1960 beseitigt. Der Architekt Norman Foster sorgte durch grundlegende Modernisierungen für das eindrucksvolle Bild, das der Reichstag heute Berlinbesuchern bietet.

Prächtige Aussicht und entspanntes Picknicken

Das Reichstagsgebäude erreichen Sie vom Hauptbahnhof bequem zu Fuß in rund 15Min. durch den Spreebogenpark. Nehmen Sie den Fahrstuhl am Westeingang hinauf zur Dachterrasse. Hier erhalten Sie einen Audioguide mit interessanten Infos, der sich automatisch einschaltet, wenn Sie über die spiralförmige Rampe in die Kuppel und zur 40m hoch gelegenen Aussichtsplattform gehen. Ein prachtvoller Blick über das Regierungsviertel, den Großen Tiergarten und auf das nahe Brandenburger Tor erwartet Sie. Wenn Sie die Warteschlangen zur Sunset-Time nicht scheuen, werden Sie – entsprechender Himmel vorausgesetzt – mit einem spektakulären Sonnenuntergang belohnt. Natürlich können Sie das romantische Schauspiel auch ganz entspannt bei einem guten Glas Wein im Restaurant Käfer auf der Dachterrasse genießen. Übrigens: Die große Wiese vor dem Reichstag ist bei Berlinern ein überaus beliebter Platz zum Relaxen und Picknicken.

Bedeutende Kunst und ein verhüllter Reichstag

Ein Event, das Sie sich auf keinen Fall entgehen lassen sollten, ist eine Führung in den Plenarsaal des Bundestages. Auch die über das gesamte Gebäude verteilten Kunstwerke mit großartigen zeitgenössischen Werken von u.a. Georg Baselitz, Joseph Beuys und Grisha Bruskin sind sehenswert. Großes Aufsehen erregte das Künstlerehepaar Christo und Jeanne Claude, das im Jahr 1995 zwei Wochen lang das gesamte Reichstagsgebäude mit silberfarbener Plane verhüllte. Die Bilder der „Installation“ gingen um die Welt.

Mit der Berlin WelcomCard gratis zu den Highlights

Denken Sie bei den Vorbereitungen für Ihren Berlinbesuch unbedingt an die Berlin WelcomeCard, egal, wie lange Sie in der Hauptstadt sein werden. Das offizielle und zugleich meistverkaufte Touristenticket Berlins ermöglicht Ihnen die freie Nutzung des ÖPNV. Profitieren Sie auch von den über 200 Rabattangeboten mit bis zu 50% Ersparnis. Wie wäre es mit einem Helikopterflug über Berlin-Mitte oder einem farbenprächtigen Revuespektakel im Friedrichstadt-Palast? Alternativ wählen Sie die Berlin WelcomeCard inclusive und erhalten freien Eintritt zu Berlins Top-Attraktionen.

Rabattpartner in der Umgebung


In Google Maps öffnen