Berlin WelcomeCard All Inclusive Partner

Bode-Museum

Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Add Added
  • Bode Museum von außen

Free Entry with the Berlin WelcomeCard
All inclusive



Buy your ticket

Today's Bode Museum can be credited to Princess Victoria, the sister of Kaiser Wilhelm II, who wanted to ​establish an art museum. Art historian Wilhelm Bode took up the cause and brought it to fruition. Ernst von Ihne, the court architect, then built this building on the tip of Museum Island between 1897 and 1904 according to plans drawn up by Bode. On 18 October 1904, the museum was officially opened to mark the birthday of Kaiser Friedrich III, the father of Princess Victoria and Kaiser Wilhelm II who had died in 1888. It was originally called the Kaiser Friedrich Museum in his memory.

The building is located on the northern tip of Museum Island and was built in a Neo-Baroque architectural style. Despite the odd shape of the piece of land on which the museum was built, the building manages to appear fully symmetrical in the shape of an isosceles triangle.

Today, the Bode Museum houses the Prussian state collection of sculpture from the early Middle Ages through the late 18th century as well as selected paintings from the Gemäldegalerie, the Museum of Byzantine Art from the period between the 3rd and 15th centuries, and the state coin collection.

More Information

Partners in the vicinity


Open in Google Maps

Berlin WelcomeCard All Inclusive Partner

Bode-Museum

Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Merken Hinzugefügt
  • Bode Museum von außen

Freier Eintritt mit der Berlin WelcomeCard
All inclusive



Ticket auswählen

Der Ursprung des heutigen Bode-Museums ist auf die Kronprinzessin Victoria zurückzuführen, die die Idee zur Errichtung eines Kunstmuseums hatte. Der Kunsthistoriker Wilhelm Bode nahm sich dieser Sache an und setze die Idee um. Ernst von Ihne, der Hofarchitekt, baute anschließend nach Bodes Plänen von 1897 bis 1904 das Gebäude. Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts, am 18. Oktober 1904, eröffnete das Museum am Geburtstag Kaiser Friedrichs III. Zur Erinnerung an den 1888 verstorbenen Kaiser wurde das Museum Kaiser-Friedrich-Museum genannt.

Das Gebäude befindet sich an der Nordspitze der Museumsinsel und wurde im architektonischen Neobarock Stil erbaut. Trotz des sehr ungleichmäßigen Grundstücks, auf dem das Museum errichtet wurde, gelang der Schein eines völlig symmetrischen, gleichschenkligen Gebäudes.

Heute beherbergt das Bode-Museum die Skulpturensammlung – Bildwerke vom frühen Mittelalter bis zum ausgehenden 18. Jahrhundert – sowie ausgewählte Werke der Gemäldegalerie, das Museum für Byzantinische Kunst – Kunst des Weströmischen und des Byzantinischen Reiches aus der Zeit vom 3. bis zum 15. Jahrhundert – und das Münzkabinett.

Zum Thema

Rabattpartner in der Umgebung


In Google Maps öffnen